About Six County

The Six County Association of Governments in Central Utah

Through local intergovernmental agreements, the Six County Association of Governments (SCAOG) was organized in 1969 to provide services available through state and federal programs to the citizens of Juab, Millard, Piute, Sanpete, Sevier and Wayne counties.

SCAOG’s primary goal is to serve as a multi-purpose organization, utilizing combined resources to effectively provide a broad spectrum of services, including economic and community development, as well as essential human services.

The General Board of SCAOG comprise all commissioners and one appointed mayor from each county. An Executive Board of one appointed commissioner and the appointed mayor from each county direct the overall programs of the agency.

Below is a listing of the programs we administer, serving the people and local governments of the Six County area:

An Association of Governments is a voluntary association of local governments formed under the authority of the Utah Interlocal Cooperation Act. Utah’s seven Associations’ were formally established in the early 1970’s to:

  1. To provide a common forum to identify, discuss, study, and resolve area wide problems.
  2. To achieve advantages of cooperative action which cannot be achieved individually and to make the most effective use of local leadership and staff resources.
  3. To provide local input into state programs which are undergoing increasing decentralization to a regional level.
  4. To Serve as a multi-purpose “umbrella-type” organization to engage in and carry out planning and development programs with respect to existing and emerging problems of industry, commerce, transportation, population, housing, agriculture, public services, local governments and any other matter which are relevant to the Association’s purposes_
  5. To maintain liaison with members, governmental units and groups of organizations, and to serve as the regional voice for local governments; and
  6. To perform such other functions as may be deemed necessary under the direction of local elected officials.

Utah’s seven different Associations of Governments coincide with the boundaries of state created planning districts. Some of the most important activities accomplished by Associations are those which the state’s administration determines would be better addressed at a regional level by locally elected officials. The other alternative would be to increase state administrative oversight and staffing. The Associations have allowed local officials to have a direct impact upon many programs such as Community Development Block Grants, Community Services Block Grants, Social Services Block Grants, Capitol improvements planning and prioritization, etc.

Six County Association of Governments is involved with many activities which help local people, local governments, and state & federal agencies be more effective. Those activities include:

  1. Clearinghouse review and comments to appropriate agencies.
  2. Federal Register review and follow-up with state agencies.
  3. Public lands research, comments, follow-up, resource management plan involvement, and provide a regional forum to discuss public lands issues i.e. the Six County Natural Resource Committee (SCNRC).
  4. Partner with state and federal agencies on numerous projects.
  5. Development of a regional economic development plan known as the
  6. Comprehensive Economic Development Strategies (CEDS) utilized in State planning efforts.
  7. Serve as a Census Data Center Affiliate in partnership with the Governors Office
  8. of Planning and Budget (GOPB).
  9. Disseminate regional demographics and statical data to state agencies.
  10. Liaison for local officials on many state projects and proposals.
  11. Participate as requested in major state initiatives such as 21st Century Program, Smart Sites, Disaster Mitigation, FEMA Regional Core Council, Chronic Homeless Planning, affordable housing, infrastructure lists for C1B and CDBG, and others.
  12. Administration of most state “block grant” programs.
  13. Nominations and appointments of area representations on state agency boards.
  14. Participate in major legislative initiatives.
  15. Capital Investment Prioritization.
  16. Regional liaison representing the county’s interest in many state programs administered by the AOG.